So Much To Do

Posted on January 13, 2012

0


I’m feeling a tad overwhelmed by how much I need to do.  I know I complain when I’m not working and worry about how time passes and is frittered away when I’m not doing something productive.  But now I truly feel like there aren’t enough hours in the day.

I’m working right now and of course that takes up valuable time.  LOL.  But it is only part time, so I still have some time at my disposal.

I guess I should cut myself some slack.  I’m working part time and I am also studying at the Gestalt Institute.  I also have my commitments to my spiritual community and students, and every once in a while to my dad, taking him to appointments and such.

In December, I took a course on how to do hypnosis.  I am now a Certified Consulting Hypnotist!  Yes!  And right now, I think most of my anxiety centers around starting up some kind of practice and applying what I’ve learned.

I mostly hope to use my knowledge to help people in a clinical way, not in a “stage” way.  I’m already helping my sister to lose weight!

The course I took showed me just how subtle yet effective hypnosis is.  I’ve finished the course, but I’m still practicing to increase my confidence.  But I’m fully qualified right now.

I’ve got so much to do in order to set up a practice.  It isn’t so much that I don’t have time, I guess.  It’s that the time that I have is not used in an efficient way.  I find ways of avoiding doing some things because I’m scared!  Knowing that I’m qualified and that I would do a great job is nothing compared with the great unknown of marketing and getting clients.  Doing something well is just one tiny part of what makes up a practice.   Sigh.  And as for time, it is a fact that it takes time to build up a client base.

Oh, and did I mention that everything costs money?  Add a log to the anxiety fire!

I will keep you updated, both on my hypnosis, and on my progress in my Gestalt classes.  Gestalt is an ongoing thing.  I’m in year 2 of a 4 year program.

Posting on WordPress has become a bit of a chore lately.  WordPress wants its bloggers to “upgrade to pro”.  And one of the ways they’re making the upgrade more appealing is by making it sooo slow to do anything with a blog that you’ll do anything to change it.  Editing, uploading pictures, publishing.  Everything.  Painfully slow.

And so, even though writing isn’t a problem for me, writing on my blog is, and I don’t approach blogging with the joy I used to.

Posted in: Uncategorized