Scott Pilgrim vs the World

Posted on February 23, 2011

1


Scott Pilgrim vs the World.  What a whimsical, fun movie.

The story is a simple one, and the way it is presented is over the top.  What a great combination.  It beats the Hell out of the glut of romantic comedies that are out there, that bore me and leave me uninterested in the lame characters involved.  The usual boy meets girl formula is stirred up and something really fine results.

The gentle, subtle humour is relatable to our day to day mundane lives, and there is a comic edge that applies to the hipster characters, the world of clubs and band battles as well. No matter the character, we are all still human.

This quote from the movie says a lot:

Hipster Bouncer: What’s the password?
Scott Pilgrim: Uh… whatever…
Hipster Bouncer: Cool…

I loved that it was set in my town of Toronto and that Toronto wasn’t disguised and made to look like another city.  It was exciting that the places they showed were recognizable.  Now I know what New Yorkers feel when they see parts of their town in a movie.

Torontonian or not, I would suggest that you see this movie.  I know you will be charmed by it.

Tagged: , , ,
Posted in: Uncategorized